Everything You Need To Know About The African Cup Of Nations Draw #AFCON2019

share on:

The draw for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations takes place in Egypt this evening.

For the first time in African Cup Of Nations history, 24 countries will await their fate which will now also be held during Europe’s traditional summer months, from June 21 to July 19, Instead of January-February window

Following the release of the Fifa world rankings in April, 24 nations were separated into four seeding pots to determine the six groups for the finals.

Cameroon, the reigning champions, are placed in Pot 1 alongside hosts Egypt, Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria and Morocco.

The top team teams from each group will progress to the knock-out stages, along with the four best third-placed teams.


Here are the full seeding groups for tonight’s draw in Cairo.

Pot 1 Pot 2 Pot 3 Pot 4
Egypt DR Congo South Africa Zimbabwe
Cameroon Ghana Uganda Namibia
Senegal Mali Benin Guinea-Bissau
Tunisia Ivory Coast Mauritania Angola
Nigeria Guinea Madagascar Tanzania
Morocco Algeria Kenya Burundi

Start time

The draw is scheduled to start at 7pm Nigerian time.

How to watch 

The draw will be available via a live stream provided by the official CAFTV YouTube channel, also on Local and Cable TV stations



"Tega is a writer/OAP, Lover of all things Tech, Sports and TV Series"

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.