David Silva Won’t Face Retrospective Punishment After Kicking Andreas Pereira In The Chest

share on:

Manchester City’s David Silva will face no retrospective action for an incident involving Manchester United’s Andreas Pereira in the second half of last night’s game

David Silva connected with Pereira’s chest when attempting to win the ball in the game at Old Trafford, but it is understood the incident was seen by the match officials, led by Andre Marriner, at the time.

The challenge occurred in the 70th minute at Old Trafford, shortly after Leroy Sane had doubled City’s lead in their 2-0 win.

Gary Neville, who was commentating on the match, thought Silva should have been sent off.

He told Sky Sports: ‘Not good from David Silva. I said in the first half, players know what they’re doing, they know when they’re following through.

‘And he’s a very lucky boy, David Silva. Referee Andre Marriner sees that, I think it’s a red card.

‘He’s been brilliant tonight, that is out of character. Don’t normally see him with kung-fu kicks. Very lucky.’



"Tega is a writer/OAP, Lover of all things Tech, Sports and TV Series"

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.