Luka Modric Beats Ronaldo, Messi , Griezmann And Mbappe To Win The 2018 Ballon d’Or Award

share on:

Luka Modric has been named the winner of 2018’s Ballon d’Or Award

Luka Modric played an important role for his club as they won their third consecutive Champions League title, as well as captaining Croatia to second place at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

The Croat beat off competition from the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann, Raphael Varane and Lionel Messi

Modric now becomes the first player to break Messi and Ronaldo’s duopoly of the award since 2007, with Brazil’s Kaka was the last to lift the trophy before the Argentine and Portuguese stars collected five each across the following years.

He is also the seventh player from Real Madrid to lift the trophy, breaking a tie with Barcelona players. (Counting multiple winners, each club now has won 11 times over all, another record.)



"Tega is a writer/OAP, Lover of all things Tech, Sports and TV Series"

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.