PDP, R-APC, 37 Others Join Forces To Unseat Buhari In 2019

share on:
PDP, R-APC, 37 Others Join Forces To Unseat Buhari In 2019

PDP, R-APC, 37 Others Join Forces To Unseat Buhari In 2019

There was a major political realignment in the country on Monday, July 9, as thirty-nine opposition political parties joined forces to field a single presidential candidate in 2019 with the sole aim to unseat President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the Reformed-All Progressives Congress (R-APC), Social democratic Party (SDP) and 36 others, met in Abuja yesterday where they signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to contest the 2019 general elections under one platform.

They agreed to work together under the name “Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP)” to unseat President Buhari.

The MoU, which aims to kick the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) from power, states that the “parties shall promote a positive reaction to the above failures of the present regime and to give hope to all our people.”

The MoU added, “The parties shall ensure that the coalition is committed to working together in support of the single presidential candidate to contest the 2019 Presidential election in order to successfully enthrone a true democrat who will salvage the nation from the misrule of the APC government.

 A former foreign minister and member of the PDP, Tom Ikimi, read the MoU after the meeting that lasted some hours.

“CUPP is determined to replace the present day APC federal government with a new and acceptable national unity government in 2019,” he said.

“The parties shall promote the emergence of a government that will usher in abundant peace, happiness, prosperity and ensure safety of lives and property inside the true and well-structured Nigerian federation.

“The parties shall work together to ensure the emergence of a joint presidential candidate of which modalities for the …process shall be under a separate agreement by the parties.

“The parties shall promote a positive reaction to the above being said and to give hope to all our people.”

Among the political parties that signed the agreement are the Action Alliance, Alliance for Democracy, Africa Democratic Party, Action Democratic Party, All Grand Alliance Party, Action Peoples Party and Advanced Congress of Democrats.

Those who signed included Better Nigeria Progressive Party, Democratic Alternative, Democratic Peoples Party, Grand Democratic Party of Nigeria, Green Party of Nigeria, KOWA Party, Labour Party,  Mass Action Joint Alliance, and Masses Movement of Nigeria .

Others are the National Conscience Party, New Generation Party, National Unity Party, Peoples Alliance for National Development and Liberty, Peoples Progressive Party, People for Democratic Change, Peoples Democratic Party, Providence People’s Congress, Restoration Party of Nigeria, Unity Party of Nigeria, All Grassroots Alliance,  National Interest Party,  Nigeria Democratic Congress Party,  Progressive Peoples Alliance , and Young Democratic Party, among others.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.