France vs Croatia: All Is Set For The 2018 FIFA #WorldCupFinal | See Full Details

share on:
France vs Croatia: All Is Set For The 2018 FIFA #WorldCupFinal

France vs Croatia: All Is Set For The 2018 FIFA #WorldCupFinal | See Full Details

After a month of dramatic and breath-taking football, with 32 teams whittled down to just two, the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow will today play host to France and Croatia in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Final as the two teams lock horns in an attempt to get their hands on the most prestigious trophy in World football.

France will head into the Moscow final as heavy favourites, having eased past Argentina, Uruguay and Belgium to get here. But don’t be quick to write off Croatia as it has done it the hard way by beating Denmark and Russia on penalties and England in extra-time.


Kick-off is at 4pm (Nigerian time) on Sunday, July 15. That’s 6pm local time if you’re in Russia.



Kylian Mbappe
Kylian Mbappe

For the French side, Kylian Mbappe is the key player as his performance so far has set tongues wagging all tournament. The 19-year-old striker, who joined French giant Paris Saint-Germain on a whopping $295 million transfer fee from Monaco, became the second-youngest player to find the back of the net at a World Cup after Brazilian legend Pele, and has scored three goals for the tournament.

His biggest asset is his pace but he also has plenty of finesse with the ball at his feet, as shown by his spectacular back-flick against Belgium that sent the internet wild.


Lukas Modric

Luka Modric doesn’t seems to get the attentions that follow Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, but the crafty central midfielder deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as them.

His passing range, ability to dissect defences and play teammates into space with inch-perfect through balls and incredible defensive workrate make him the backbone of the Croatian side.


According to bookmakers, France.

Ladbrokes has Didier Deschamps’ men as $1.90 favourites while Croatia is a rank $4.50 outsider.

Who are the previous World Cup winners?

There have been 20 finals, with Brazil the most successful country with five titles.

  • 1930 – Uruguay
  • 1934 – Italy
  • 1938 – Italy
  • 1950 – Uruguay
  • 1954 – West Germany
  • 1958 – Brazil
  • 1962 – Brazil
  • 1966 – England
  • 1970 – Brazil
  • 1974 – West Germany
  • 1978 – Argentina
  • 1982 – Italy
  • 1986 – Argentina
  • 1990 – West Germany
  • 1994 – Brazil
  • 1998 – France
  • 2002 – Brazil
  • 2006 – Italy
  • 2010 – Spain
  • 2014 – Germany


I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.