13 LG Chairmen In Benue Dump APC For PDP

share on:
Ortom Formally Dumps APC, Joins PDP

13 LG Chairmen In Benue Dump APC For PDP

13 Local Government chairmen in Benue state have announced their defection from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Friday, July 27, 2018 at the Government House in Makurdi, the state capital.

The local government bosses also pledged their loyalty to the state governor, Samuel Ortom, after a meeting with him on Saturday in Makurdi.

Bear in mind that Ortom officially announced his resignation from Nigeria’s ruling party, APC, on Wednesday.

Ortom’s resignation comes at a time when fifteen senators of the ruling party announced their defection to the opposition party.

In the same vein on Tuesday, a total of 37 members of the House of Representatives defected from Nigeria’s ruling party.

Ortom had said that he was joining the PDP to ensure justice, equity and fairness for the people of Benue.

While speaking to newsmen on Wednesday, July 25, 2018, the Governor said:

“The 22 local governments represented by the councillors here and then the 13 local government chairmen have unanimously endorsed that my stay in the APC has expired, that I should look for another platform. On that note, I have formally resigned from the All Progressives’ Congress.

“With your support, and because you have given me a blank cheque to also nominate a party that we can further fight to ensure justice, equity and fairness for the people of Benue State, let me formally announce to you that I now would join the People’s Democratic Party.”

The 13 defectors include: Anthony Shawon of Guma local government, Justina Sorka of Buruku local government, Mwuese Ubebe of Konshisha local government, Blessing Unogwo of Ado local government, Virginia Kpindi of Katsina-Ala local government and George Alli of Otukpo local government.

Others are: Comfort Echeoda of Agatu local government, Francis Ayaga of Gwer West local government, Uaah Vitalis of Gwer East local government, Richard Nyajo of Logo local government, Ibellogo Tor of Tyokaa- Ukum local government, Adakole Abutu of Ohimini local government and Peter Onche of Obi local government.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.