Nigerian Government To Release New List Of Looters With Names Of Governors, Ministers

share on:
Nigerian Government

The Nigerian Government is preparing to release a list of names of people alleged to have looted the nation’s treasury under former President, Goodluck Jonathan.

The list will include names of those who haven’t been arraigned on corruption charges yet with names of former governors, ministers and even bankers expected to be on the list.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, had earlier disclosed that 55 persons stole N1.34tn under the former President’s watch. The Minister also released a list of 29 names who he claims took money from the office of the former National Security Adviser, Col. Sabo Dasuki (retd.).

The Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption, PACAC, Chairman, Prof. Itse Sagay (SAN) confirmed this to reporters. He said the names of 55 persons that allegedly looted N1.34tn under Jonathan’s regime were not in the lists of looters released by the Federal Government.

Sagay added that he was very sure that the Federal Government would publish the names of these alleged looters.

“Yes, I’m sure. In fact, there is a paper containing all their names, the charges against them, how far their cases have gone, some of them have never been charged. That list includes former governors, ministers, bankers and so on. That is another list entirely.”

“I don’t want to mention any names for now. There are people on that list that the court declared that the EFCC (Economic and Financial Crimes Commission) had no right to prosecute for technical reasons, not for substantive reasons.” He said.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.