Nigeria Placed In Pot 4 As FIFA Announces Pots For 2018 World Cup Draw

share on:
Nigeria Placed In Pot 4 As FIFA Announces Draw For 2018 World Cup Draw

The world football governing body, FIFA, announced the pots for the 2018 World Cup draw on its website on Thursday, November 16, 2017.

In the publication, Nigeria is placed in Pot 4, which means it will not play any of the countries in that pot.

Those countries are Serbia, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia.

Pot 1 has Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, and France.

Pot 2 has Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia. Mexico, Uruguay, and Croatia.

Pot 3 has Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, and Iran.

It was confirmed in September, by the Organising Committee for FIFA Competitions, that all teams will be allocated to (eight-team) pots 1 to 4 based on sporting principles.

FIFA also said it used the October 2017 edition of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking to allocate all qualified teams to the four pots after hosts Russia took the top seeding spot.

“It is worth remembering that the principle of drawing the teams into the groups will remain unchanged. This means that no teams from the same confederation, with the exception of UEFA, which could have up to two teams in the same group, will be drawn into the same group.”

“The Final Draw will take place on Friday 1 December at Moscow’s State Kremlin Palace, FIFA added.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.