N56,000 Minimum Wage? Buhari To Inaugurate Committee To Discuss Workers’ Salary On Monday

share on:
N56,000 Minimum Wage? Buhari To Inaugurates Committee To Discuss Workers’ Salary On Monday

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday approved the appointment of a thirty-member tripartite National Minimum Wage Committee for the negotiation of a new National Minimum Wage in the country.

It was gathered that the Committee will be inaugurated on Monday 27th November, 2017 at the Council Chambers, Aso Rock Presidential Villa, Sate House, Abuja.

N56,000 Minimum Wage? Buhari Approves Committee To Discuss Workers’ Salary

The committee is made up of persons from the public sector, (Federal and State Governments) and the private sector made up of the largest private employer group, the Nigeria Employers Consultative Association (NECA), Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN), Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce Industry Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) and Nigerian Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME).

The committee is chaired by Ama Pepple. Other members are; Minister of Labour and Employment Dr Chris Ngige (Deputy Chairman), Chairman, National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission, Chief Richard Egbule    (Member/Secretary).

Others are; Minister, Budget and Planning Udo Udo Udoma, Minister of Finance Kemi Adeosun, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation

Mrs Winifred E. Oyo – Ita and Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation Dr. Roy Ug

Representing the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) are; Governors Rauf Aregbesola (Osun, South West), Rochas Okorocha (Imo, South East) Hassan Dankwambo (Gombe, North East) Nyesom Wike (Rivers, South South), Simon Lalong (Plateau, North Central) Abubakar Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi, North West) and A. B. Okauru, Esq., DG, NGF as observer.

Representatives of trade unions are Ayuba Wabba, President Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Peters Adeyemi, Kiri Mohammed, Amechi Asugwuni, Peter Ozo-Eson, Bobboi Bala Kaigama President, Trade Union Congress, Sunday Olusoji Salako, Alade Bashir Lawa and Igwe Achese President, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG).

On the employers’ side are; Olusegun Oshinowo, Director General, Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA), Timothy Olawale, Chuma Nwankwo,  Mrs Olubunmi Adekoje, Director General, Federation of     Construction Industry (FOCI), Alhaji Ahmed Ladan Gobir, Chairman, Kaduna East Branch, Manufacturers’ Association (MAN), Francis Oluwagbenro, Hajia Muheeba Dankaka, President, Kano Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) and Prince Degun Agboade, President, Nigeria Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME).



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.