Chelsea Crowned Premier League Champions After West Brom Victory

share on:

Chelsea Crowned Premier League Champions After West Brom Victory

Chelsea have won the English Premier League title after defeating West Bromwich Albion 1-0 at the Hawthorns on Friday night, May 12, 2017.

Tonight, Antonio Conte led the Stamford Bridge side to glory with two matches to spare – the sixth time that the Blues have been crowned English champions

Chelsea had to wait till the 82nd minute before Michy Batshuayi scored the goal that gave them the vital three points, meaning they hold an unassailable 10-point advantage over Tottenham.

West Brom gave Chelsea a good challenge in the encounter, and the hosts would have scored in the 15th minute, but Chris Brunt’s efforts was saved by Thibaut Courtois.

It is the sixth time that the Stamford Bridge side have won England’s top flight and the fourth time since 2004-05 that they have claimed the Premier League title.

Conte’s men have been recognised individually as well as collectively, with summer signing N’Golo Kante winning the PFA Player of the Year award and also claiming the Football Writer’s prize. His team mate Eden Hazard finished as runner-up in both categories.

The Blues can yet complete a league and cup double as they face Arsenal on May 27 at Wembley in the FA Cup final.

Chelsea fans can also look forward to European nights once more, with the Champions League set to return next season.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.