PFA Player Of The Year Award: N’golo Kanté, Eden Hazard and Zlatan Ibrahimovic On Shortlist

share on:

Chelsea duo of N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard lead the six-man pack hoping to win the PFA Player of the Year award.

Kante, who was shortlisted last year for his part in Leicester’s remarkable season but did not make the top three, is the bookmakers’ favourite for the 2016/17 accolade while Hazard — a winner two years ago — is second favourite.

Alexis Sánchez, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Romelu Lukaku and Harry Kane also feature on the shortlist.

Lukaku, the Everton forward who is the top flight’s leading scorer this season with 23 goals, is battling it out with a number of his fellow nominees for the Golden Boot.

Ibrahimovic has scored 17 goals for Manchester United in his first season in English football, and Sánchez has managed 18 to brighten up a disappointing campaign for Arsenal.

Harry Kane  has 19 goals this season.

He was third in the voting last year and has also been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year gong alongside his Tottenham team-mate Dele Alli.

Alli, who turned 21 on Tuesday, won the award last year and has enjoyed another impressive season, scoring 16 goals to help Spurs emerge as Chelsea’s nearest challengers. The duo are joined by Lukaku, the Burnley defender Michael Keane, Sunderland’s goalkeeper Jordan Pickford and the Manchester City winger Leroy Sané.

Having won last season’s Women’s Super League crown without losing a game, Manchester City are understandably well represented for the Women’s Player of the Year prize.

England right-back Lucy Bronze, who won the award in 2014, is joined by the club’s top scorer Jane Ross and midfielder Jill Scott. Alongside the City trio on the six-woman shortlist are Ellen White, Karen Carney and Caroline Weir.

Ross and Liverpool midfielder Weir both look set to feature in the Scotland team that face England at Euro 2017 this summer.

Bronze and Scott will represent England at the showpiece tournament in Holland, along with attacking midfielder Carney – a consistently strong performer for Chelsea last term – and Birmingham forward White, who scored the winner against the United States at the SheBelieves Cup last month.

Chelsea’s Millie Bright and Manchester City’s Nikita Parris – both also going to the Euros with England – have been nominated for the women’s Young Player of the Year gong.

Three City players get the nod in this category too, with Parris joined by Georgia Stanway and Keira Walsh. Weir is again nominated, along with Birmingham’s Jess Carter.

PFA Player Of The Year Award

Player of the Year shortlist

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)

Romelu Lukaku (Everton)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Young Player of the Year shortlist

Dele Alli (Tottenham)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Michael Keane (Burnley)

Romelu Lukaku (Everton)

Jordan Pickford (Sunderland)

Leroy Sane (Manchester City)

Women’s Player of the Year shortlist

Lucy Bronze (Manchester City)

Jane Ross (Manchester City)

Jill Scott (Manchester City)

Ellen White (Birmingham City)

Karen Carney (Chelsea)

Caroline Weir (Liverpool)

Women’s Young Player of the Year shortlist

Millie Bright (Chelsea)

Nikita Parris (Manchester City)

Georgia Stanway (Manchester City)

Keira Walsh (Manchester City)

Caroline Weir (Liverpool)

Jess Carter (Birmingham)


PFA Player Of The Year Award



"Tega is a writer/OAP, Lover of all things Tech, Sports and TV Series"

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.