APC Candidates Win Yobe And Plateau Elections

share on:
APC Sweeps LG Poll In Ogun

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the seats in the local government election conducted in the 17 Local Government Areas of the State.

The election result was announced on Sunday by Mr Jauro Abdu, the Chairman of the Yobe State Independent Electoral Commission (YSIEC) at a news conference in Damaturu.

He said the chairmanship seats for the 17 council areas were contested unopposed by APC candidates.

He added that the chairmanship candidate for the National Conscience Party (NCP) for Potiskum Local Government withdrew from the race at the last hour, making it the last council that was also contested unopposed.

The APC won all the 178 councillorship seats in the peacefully conducted election in the state.

In the same vein, INEC on Sunday declared Mr Jackson Nimmwang, APC candidate, the winner of Saturday’s Langtang South State Constituency by-election in Plateau.

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Tor Iorapuu, declared in Mabodi, that Nimmwang polled 3,688 votes to beat his counterpart form Mega Progressives Peoples Party (MPPP), Mr Rinsmicit Emmanuel, who scored only 83 votes.

Iorapuu said that the turn out at the election was very low as only 13 per cent of the 48,615 registered voters participated in the election held in 68 polling units.

He, however, described the election as “very free and fair’’.

He said only 6,571 of the 6,631 accredited voters voted during the election.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.