Saraki Reshuffles Senate Committees | Ndume Now Chairman Of INEC Committee (See List)

share on:
Saraki Reshuffles Senate Committees, Ndume Now Chairman Of INEC Committee

Senate President Bukola Saraki on Thursday reshuffled committees, shortly before adjourning plenary till February 21, 2017.

In an attempt to quell the palpable tension between him and former Senate Leader, Ali Ndume, Saraki has named him as the new chairman of the committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Senator Magnus Abe from Rivers State, who recently won a keenly-contested rerun election, was named to head a new Senate Committee on Federal Roads Maintenance Agency (FERMA).

While another Rivers State Senator, George Sekibo was named as chairman of the Senate committee on Interior.

Senator Abubakar Kyari, who until now, chaired the Senate committee on INEC, was named by Saraki to head  Defence committee.

While Senator Oluremi Tinubu was then named Senate committee chairman on Environment.

Senator, Kabir Marafa, was also named in last October Senate committee chairman on Petroleum (Downstream).

With the announcement of the new committee heads, the total number of committee chairmen now stands at 68, from its earlier 66.

Meanwhile the Senate also passed the 2017 budget for second reading, with Saraki referring it to the Appropriations committee and other sub committees.

The Senate also adjourned plenary till February 21, 2017 to make room for its 68 committees to work on 2017 Budget defence exercise.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.