Senate Confirms Buhari’s Nominees As Supreme Court Justices

share on:
Saraki Reshuffles Senate Committees, Ndume Now Chairman Of INEC Committee

The Senate confirmed the nomination of Justice Amina Augie (Kebbi/North-West) and Justice Eko Ejembi (Benue/North-Central) as Justices of the Supreme Court on Tuesday, October 18, 2016.

President Muhammadu Buhari had earlier submitted the names of both justices to the Senate for confirmation.

READ ALSO: Buhari Appoints 2 New Supreme Court Justices Amid Raid On Judges

At Today’s plenary, 38 senators supported the appointment of Eko, while 39 senators supported Augie’s appointment. One senator did not vote for either of the two.

Presiding over Tuesday’s session, the Deputy President of the Senate, Ike Ekweremadu, commended the two justices and charged them to uphold and defend the tenets of their calling.

The Senate also commenced the screening of 6 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) who were directed to appear before its committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

READ ALSO: Buhari Finally Breaks Silence On The Arrest Of 7 Judges

The senate while considering executive communications agreed to begin the consideration of the nomination of the six commissioners for appointment.

They are: Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu (Anambra), May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta), AVM Ahmed Mu’Azu (Gombe), Mohammed Haruna (Niger), Dr Adekunle Ogunmola (Oyo) and Abubakar Nahuche (Zamfara).



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.