In Ogun: Governor Amosun Inaugurates 57 LG Chairmen

share on:

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state swore in the 57 newly elected local government and local council development areas (LCDAs) chairmen on Monday.

The swearing-in ceremony, which was held at the June 12 Cultural Centre in Abeokuta, is coming less than 2 days after the State Independent Electoral Agency conducted elections into the 20 local governments and 36 local council development areas of the state and results announced.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) had won all the 57 chairmanship seats and also secured victory in 346 councillorship positions‎ with the Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) clinching three councillorship seats.
The new council helmsmen, including five women, were administered oath of office and oath of allegiance as chairmen.

During the ceremony, the governor urged the chairmen to replicate the programmes of the state government at their respective areas, even as he promised to fund local administration.

He said: “we deliberately put the Ministry of Rural Areas and Development under the supervision of the Deputy Governor for effectiveness.

“The Deputy Governor will be liaising with you and ensure that there is regular periodic report and assessment of your performance in your areas.”

Speaking on behalf of the chairmen, the Chairman of Odogbolu Local Government assured the governor and the people of Ogun of their readiness to serve the people.

“We will assist government in the ongoing transformation agenda and justify our election by the good people of Ogun State,” the new chairman said.

NOW TRENDING: Ogun State Police Arrest 2 Cultists For Killing 20 People



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.