#EdoDecides: Obaseki In Early Lead; PDP Supporters Protest | INEC Stops Announcement Of Results

share on:
#EdoDecides: Obaseki In Early Lead; PDP Supporters Protest | INEC Stops Announcement Of Results

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the results of nine of the 18 local governments in the Edo State governorship election.

The results show that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has taken an early lead in the election.

READ ALSO: #EdoDecides: Security Strengthened As Edo State Elects New Governor Today

Obaseki is said to have won in 5 local governments while his main challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won in 4 local governments.

The APC so far has 142,424 votes while the PDP has 136,808 votes and a difference of  5,616 votes.

Results for nine more local governments have yet to be collated.

As the collation went on, PDP supporters protested outside the INEC office, demanding that INEC should stop collation of results from the LGAs in the North Central Senatorial district.

READ ALSO: #EdoDecides: Poll Records Massive Turnout | APC, PDP Supporters Clash

The protesters alleged that the results currently being released by INEC “were manipulated over the night”, saying that they want their mandate.

See collated results below:

1. Owan West

APC: 12,862

PDP: 10,132

2. Egor

APC: 26,177

PDP: 19,514

3. Esan North East

APC: 9,130

PDP: 16,220

4. Igueben

APC: 7,802

PDP: 7,560

5. Uhunmwode

APC: 10,911

PDP: 8,667

6 Esan South East

APC: 9,554

PDP: 11,466

7. Oredo

APC: 37,612

PDP: 30,492

8. Orhionmwon

APC: 15,262

PDP: 16,446

9. Esan West

APC 13,114

PDP 16,311



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.