Ballon D’Or To Return To Original Format

share on:
Ballon D'Or

The Ballon D’Or award, given every year to the greatest football player in the world for the previous 12 months is set to return to its original format.

The Ballon D’Or was France Football’s award, voted for by journalists exclusively and not by players. In 2010 former FIFA president Sepp Blatter paid for the rights to the trophy and fused it with FIFA’s  World Player of the Year award, an award voted for by coaches and team captains to form the FIFA Ballon D’Or.

READ: “Bale Can Win The Ballon d’Or” – Redknapp

France Football regains Ballon D’Or

Control of the award will now return to French publication, France Football. This is after the contract signed by both organizations expired with no agreement in place for an extension. Voting for the Ballon D’Or will now be restricted to just journalists in Europe.

Now FIFA must decide if they want to revive the now defunct FIFA World Player Award. The award was given between 1991 and 2009 through votes from national team coaches and captains from all of the members of the association.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.