Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho Among 2016 Golden Boy Nominees

share on:
Alex Iwobi

English Premier League youngsters Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho have been included in the 40-man list for the 2016 Golden Boy award.

The Nigerian duo have had their breakthrough in the last 12 months at Arsenal and Manchester City respectively. Bayern Munich’s Renato Sanches and Manchester United starlet Marcus Rashford are also among the 40 nominated for the award.

READ: Report: Iheanacho, Iwobi, Mikel, Musa To Be Selected For CAF Footballer Of The Year Awards

Iwobi, Iheanacho up for 2016 Golden Boy award

Italian newspaper Tutttosport named their nominee list for the 2016 Golden Boy award on Thursday morning, with the annual award given to the best under-21 player based at a European club. Anthony Martial won the award last year and Raheem Sterling won it in 2014.

Alex Iwobi

No Nigerian or even African has ever won this award since it’s inception in 2003. Hopefully one of our youngsters bring it home.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.