International Jury Storms Lagos For AFRIMA 2016

share on:
International Jury Storms Lagos For AFRIMA 2016

Ahead of the nominee announcement which comes up on August 22, 2016, members of the Jury for the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA), had arrived in Lagos, Nigeria on Tuesday, August 17,2016 and commenced the adjudication exercise.

The screening/nominee selection is scheduled to hold in Lagos State just as the city was last Monday August 15, declared the host city for AFRIMA 2016 by the African Union.

READ ALSO: AFRIMA 2016: AU To Announce Host City On Monday

The 13-person International Jury of AFRIMA, which represents the five regions of Africa, the Diaspora and AUC, are: Kawesa Richard (Eastern Africa-Uganda), Delani Makhalima (Southern Africa-Zimbabwe), Christian Syren (Southern Africa-Southern Africa), Rita Ray (Diaspora-UK), Kiki Toure(Central Africa – Equatorial Guinea), Rab Bakari (Diaspora –USA), Oscar Kidjo (Western Africa-Benin Republic), Laolu Akintobi (Western Africa-Nigeria), Tabu Osusa (Eastern Africa-Kenya), Robert E. Ekukole (Central Africa-Cameroon), Angela Martins (African Union Rep.)   promises to uphold the AFRIMA’s value of FACE IT (Fairness,Authenticity,Creativity,Excellence,Integrity,Transparency).

The entry submission process that was opened to artistes, music professionals and other stakeholders living on the continent and in the Diaspora, commenced on Monday May 30 and closed on July 30, 2016. Realizing a total score of over 2,714 entries from music practitioners across the continent for this year’s edition of the All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA. Hence, the call for the commencement of the proper documentation of the nominees to emerge for the consideration for AFRIMA 2016 awards.

The purpose for this 7-day screening exercise and nominee selection is to provide for well-deserving artistes and music professionals to emerge as winners ranging from the regional categories to the continental categories. This brings for a crucial responsibility of screening, categorizing, assessing and selecting nominees from the body of works submitted for award consideration.

Following this, the adjudication process will be concluded by the final announcement of the nominees’ list in all 34 categories.

The 2016 edition of the award will take place on 4-6 November,2016.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.