WAEC Certificate Scandal: Nigerians React As Buhari Hires 15 SANs, 10 Lawyers To Defend Him

share on:
Buhari's Certificate

President Muhammadu Buhari has employed the services of 13 Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), and 10 other counsels to appeal the ruling of a Federal High Court in Abuja on May 26, 2016 dismissing his preliminary objection to a suit filed by an Abuja-based legal practitioner, Nnamdi Nwokocha-Ahaaiwe against him challenging the veracity of his WAEC result.

Nwokocha-Ahaaiwe had dragged Buhari before Justice Adeniyi Ademola of the High Court, arguing that he did not meet the educational requirement to contest for the supreme position in Nigeria, This Day reports.

READ ALSO: WAEC Declares Its Position On Buhari’s Certificate

According to him, Buhari had lied about sitting for the Cambridge West African School Certificate (WASC) in 1961 in the build up to the presidential election which he eventually won.

At the hearing of the suit on May 26, Buhari through his counsel had raised an objection to the suit, challenging the mode of service of the originating summons on him and insisting that he ought to have been served at an address in Kaduna instead of by substituted means at the national secretariat of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Abuja.

However, Justice Ademola, in his ruling, had held that it was incompetent and upheld the service of the originating court processes on Buhari.

READ ALSO: WAEC: Buhari Statement Of Results Finally Released, Checkout His Performance!

The judge held that the service of the court’s processes on the president through the secretariat of the APC was in order as the court summons would get to him even though it was delivered at his party secretariat.

Dissatisfied with this ruling, Buhari through his legal team has filed a notice of appeal at the Court of Appeal, Abuja Judicial Division on seven grounds of appeal.

The lawyers who signed the President’s notice of appeal are Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN), Mr. Lateef O. Fagbemi (SAN), Chief Akin Olujinmi (SAN), Oluwarotimi O. Akeredolu (SAN), Kola Awodein (SAN), Prof. Taiwo Osipitan (SAN), Charles Edosomwan (SAN), Emeka Ngige (SAN), Femi Atoyebi (SAN), Femi Falana (SAN), Funke Aboyade (SAN), H.O. Afolabi (SAN), Muiz Banire (SAN), and 10 others.

In the meantime, quiet a number of Nigerian netizens have taken to social media to give their different opinions on the development.

See tweets below:



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.