France Announce EURO 2016 Squad: Schneiderlin & Ben Arfa Snubbed

share on:

France Announce EURO 2016 Squad – France head coach Didier Deschamps has announced his 23-man squad for the upcoming UEFA European Championships.

France Announce EURO 2016 Squad: Coach Didier Deschamps
France Announce EURO 2016 Squad: Coach Didier Deschamps

One of the major names to miss the tournament would be Mathieu Valbuena, whose legal issues with Karim Benzema led to the Real Madrid star being excluded from the tournament. Deschamps however claimed that Valbuena was sitting out due to fitness issues, saying, “He suffered a lot of injuries, and also faced great competition for places this season.”

READ: Cisse: Ethics? France Needs Benzema

A number of former internationals were also left out of the squad, including Alexandre Lacazette, Kevin Gameiro, Morgan Schneiderlin and Hatem Ben Arfa.

See the full French squad below!

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Benoit Costil (Rennes)

Defenders: Bacary Sagna (Man City), Christophe Jallet (Lyon), Lucas Digne (Roma), Patrice Evra (Juventus), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Eliaquim Mangala (Man City), Jeremy Mathieu (Barcelona)

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra (Marseille), Yohan Cabaye (Crystal Palace), N’Golo Kante (Leicester City), Blaise Matuidi (PSG), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle United)

READ: Schneiderlin: EPL Still Possible For United

Attackers: Anthony Martial (Manchester United), Andre Pierre Gignac (Tigres UANL), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Standby: Alphonse Areola, Morgan Schneiderlin, Hatem Ben Arfa, Alexandre Lacazette, Kevin Gameiro, Adrien Rabiot, Djibril Sidibe, Samuel Umtiti



Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.