Dejan Lovren Dropped From Croatia’s Provisional Euro Squad

share on:

Croatia manager, Ante Cacic has named a provisional squad for the Euro 2016, with Liverpool’s Dejan Lovren getting dropped.

The defender was left out after making demands for his inclusion in the team for the continental competition, with Cacic stating a return is possible for the World Cup qualifying campaign.

Real Madrid duo Luka Modric and Mateo Kovacic are included in the 27-man party, alongside Barcelona’s Ivan Rakitic and Juventus striker Mario Mandzukic.

“The players on the squad list for Euro 2016 preparations are all ready and we also have a few young Croatian players here,” Cacic said after the announcement.

“The friendly matches [against Moldova and San Marino] will serve as a preparation for the first match at the Euros. We have a tough group.”

Croatia begin their campaign against Turkey on June 12.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Danijel Subasic (Monaco), Lovre Kalinic (Hajduk Split), Ivan Vargic (Rijeka), Dominik Livakovic (NK Zagreb)

Defenders: Tin Jedvaj (Bayer Leverkusen), Darijo Srna (Shakhtar Donetsk), Sime Vrsaljko (Sassuolo), Gordon Schildenfeld (Dinamo Zagreb), Vedran Corluka (Lokomotiv Moscow), Domagoj Vida (Dynamo Kiev), Duje Caleta-Car (Red Bull Salzburg), Ivan Strinic (Napoli)

Midfielders: Marko Rog (Dinamo Zagreb), Mateo Kovacic (Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Marcelo Brozovic (Inter), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Milan Badelj (Fiorentina), Domagoj Antolic (Dinamo Zagreb), Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb), Ivan Perisic (Inter), Alen Halilovic (Sporting Gijon, on loan from Barcelona)

Forwards: Marko Pjaca (Dinamo Zagreb), Mario Mandzukic (Juventus), Nikola Kalinic (Fiorentina), Duje Cop (Malaga, on loan from Dinamo Zagreb), Andrej Kramaric (Hoffenheim, on loan from Leicester City)



I solemnly promise to deliver dope sports news and keep you informed of the major happenings in the sporting world. So help me God. I'm an awesome Electrical engineer in the making.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.