Nico Rosberg Wins 2016 Australian Grand Prix

share on:

2016 Australian Grand Prix – Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg has won the 2016 F1 Australian Grand Prix, his second victory at Albert Park.

2016 Australian Grand Prix: Nico Rosberg grabs season opener
2016 Australian Grand Prix: Nico Rosberg grabs season opener

His Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton finished second, as the team recorded it’s fifth consecutive 1-2 finish dating back to last season. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel came third, with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo and Williams’ Felipe Massa rounding out the top 5.

Nico Rosberg Wins Second Race In A Row At Brazilian Grand Prix

In what was the start of the 2016 Formula 1 season, McLaren’s Fernando Alonso didn’t finish the race after a terrifying collision with Haas’ Estaban Guiterrez on lap 18.

Vettel had taken the lead and was leading as at the time of Alonso’s collision, but inspired pit stop decisions from Mercedes saw Rosberg and Hamilton push ahead.

Final standings
  1. Rosberg
  2. Hamilton
  3. Vettel
  4. Ricciardo
  5. Massa
  6. Grosjean
  7. Hulkenberg
  8. Bottas
  9. Sainz
  10. Verstappen
  11. Palmer
  12. Magnussen
  13. Perez
  14. Button
  15. Nasr
  16. Wehrlein


Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.