FIFA Ballon D’Or 2015: See How The Major Stars Voted

share on:

2015 FIFA Ballon D’Or voting

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi was named FIFA Ballon D’Or winner for 2015 on Monday night, and FIFA has now shared the voter’s register.

2015 FIFA Ballon D'Or voting
2015 FIFA Ballon D’Or voting

Messi won the award, a record 5th, after gathering the majority of votes from national team coaches, national team captains, and selected journalists.

READ: All The Winners At The 2015 Ballon D’Or

The final three of Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar Jr. all had the opportunity to vote as they are all national team captains, and none of them voted for themselves.

Messi voted for Neymar Jr., Luis Suarez and Andres Iniesta, Ronaldo voted for Real Madrid team mates Karim Benzema ahead of James Rodriguez and Gareth Bale.

Neymar also took the same route, voting for an all Barcelona-trio of Messi, Suarez and Ivan Rakitic.

READ: Lionel Messi Wins 2015 Ballon d’Or

It was a show of loyalty in some parts, with Belgium captain Vincent Kompany voting for country men Eden Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne, before giving Messi his last vote.

Arsenal star Petr Cech, who is captain of Czech Republic, gave his first vote to Messi, voting Robert Lewandowski and Hazard behind him, while his England counterpart Wayne Rooney voted Messi, Thomas Muller and Cristiano Ronaldo.

You can see the full voting breakdown here.



Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.