IGP Arase, SEC Boss, Others May Be Sacked As Buhari Reviews GEJ’s Last Minute Appointments

share on:
Buhari is Petroleum minister: President to oversee ministry

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered a compilation of the appointments former president Goodluck Jonathan made between April 1 and May 28, 2015, – the period he (Jonathan) spent in office after losing election to him (Buhari) on March 28.

READ ALSO: Buhari To Replace NNPC Boss, Kachikwu, Shortlists 3 Northerners

Daily Trust reported that several people who were appointed into high positions, like during that period might be given the boot.

Those who may likely fall in that group include; the Inspector General of Police (IGP) Solomon Arase, chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Peter Obi, chairman of the National Hajj Commission (NAHCON) Abdullahi Mukhtar Mohammed.

According to a press released on September 18, 2015, by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Babachir David Lawal, all permanent secretaries were directed to submit the list of all appointments made into all Federal Government Parastatals, Agencies, Commissions or Extra-Ministerial Offices under the supervision of their respective Ministries from April 1, to May 28, 2015.

They were further directed to ensure that the list gets to the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF) not later than 30th September, 2015.

“It is in view of the foregoing that, Mr. President directed that all appointments made into executive and non-executive positions (including renewal of tenure) in all Federal Government Parastatals, Agencies and Commissions between the period 1st April, 2015 to 28th May, 2015 should be reviewed,” it said.

Recall, Arase was appointed in April 21 by President Jonathan following the removal of Suleiman Abba from the office.

READ ALSO: Boko Haram’s Intelligence Capability Is 100% Far Better Than That Of Nigerian Army – Danjuma

Obi, former Anambra State Governor, was appointed SEC chairman on April 27, while Mohammed was appointed NAHCON chairman on May 5 and inaugurated May 22 along with other members.

They are: Yusuf Adebayo Ibrahim, Abdullahi Modibbo Saleh, Ibrahim Ezeani, Adeyemi Ademola Fuad, Enenwary Zikey, Aisha Maidubu Mohammed, Danjuma Salihu Usman and Hajiya Ramatu Bala Usman.

Former President Jonathan, after losing the 2015 presidential election, also appointed his former Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development Mrs Asabe Asmau Ahmed as Executive Secretary of the Petroleum Equalisation Fund (PEF) to replace Mrs. Sharon Adefunke Kasali who was dismissed.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

1 comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.