Coke Studio Africa Season 3 Premieres October 11

share on:

The third season of Coke Studio Africa is set to premiere on October 11th 2015. The non-competitive show will feature artistes from Kenya, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda and Mozambique. It will once again showcase the diversity of African music talent and present opportunities for artistes to work with some of the best local and international music and production talent.


A celebration of African music being its core element, Coke Studio Africa’s third season will feature live music performances and more than 54 mash up collaborations from 27 popular artistes. For the past three months, the artistes have been working with internationally renowned music producers to create unique music mash ups—the latest trend in the global music industry and the backbone of the show’s new format.


In a first time partnership with Coke Studio, Kenya Airways will fly all the Coke Studio Africa artistes and producers. Kenya Airways Head of Marketing Africa, Jacquie Muhati, says the airline is excited to support African artistes. “We want the artistes to appreciate the African continent through the Pride of Africa. With KQ flying to over 40 of the continent’s major cities, we are privileged to bring together these young talented artistes from all over Africa.”


Coca-Cola’s Strategic Marketing Manager Colas, Vivian Achieng, says, “Coca-Cola views the music show as a means of appreciating our millions of consumers across the continent by bringing the best of African and international entertainers on one platform. Following the success of the first two seasons, we are excited to introduce the new mash up format as a core element of season three, supported by multi-talented artistes and a world class production team.”


Recording exciting new mash up music arrangements, featured artistes from Kenya include Sauti Sol, Avril, Wangechi, Elani, Jua Cali and Victoria Kimani. Tanzania’s Alikiba will be making his first appearance on the show, joined by Ben Pol, Vanessa Mdee and Fid Q. From Uganda, top artistes selected include Jose Chameleone, Maurice Kirya and Juliana Kanyamozi – all will be on the show for the first time. Nigeria’s star-studded lineup will include Olamide, Ice Prince, 2 Face Idibia, Yemi Alade and Flavour. Mozambique’s finest will include Neyma, G2, Dama Do Bling and Hernani Da Silva. American pop and R&B superstar NE-YO will be the season finale’s guest star. NE-YO recorded Africa’s biggest mash up song with a select five Coke Studio Africa artistes including Wangechi from Kenya.


Grammy award-nominated South African musician and producer Zwai Bala (of Kwaito group TKZee) is the new season’s music director, with renowned international TV director/producer, Brett Lotriet, working as series producer. Each week, musicians along with a highly talented house band will perform new mash up songs produced by local and international producers. They include Jaaz Odongo, Owour Arunga, Eric Musyoka and Kevin Provoke from Kenya; Cobhams Asuquo, Masterkraft and Chopstix from Nigeria; Nahreel from Tanzania and Silvastone from the UK.



Digital nerd

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.