#BayelsaDecides: Final Showdown: Sylva Vs Dickson

share on:

A former governor of Bayelsa state, Timipre Sylva, will on December 5th, battle it out again with Seriake Dickson, incumbent governor of the state, in the state’s gubernatorial election.


Sylva vs Dickson

Recall, in 2012, Sylva, who left the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after losing the bid to clinch the party’s ticket, lost the election to Dickson.

ALSO READ: BayelsaDecides: Sylva Wins APC Governorship Primary

However, Sylva polled 981 votes to defeat his distant rival, Mr. Godknows Powell, who scored 39 votes in a peaceful primary conducted at the state secretariat of the party in Yenagoa on Wednesday.

With this victory, Sylva will face incumbent Governor Seriake Dickson, who defeated him in the 2011 governorship election.

Mansur Alli, chairman of the electoral committee, announced the results in Yenagoa, saying a total of 1,147 delegates were accredited for the exercise.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.