Juventus, Barcelona Players Dominate UEFA Best Player In Europe Shortlist

share on:

UEFA has released the 10-man shortlist for the Best Player in Europe Award.


The shortlist is dominated by last season’s Champions League finalists Barcelona and Juventus, with Barcelona having 3 players: Neymar, Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez, and Juventus providing 5: Paul Pogba, Carlos Tevez, Arturo Vidal, Andrea Pirlo and goalkeeper Andrea Buffon.

READ: Blatter Denounces UEFA’s Campaign Of Hatred

The other two players are Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard, the only Premier League player named.

Journalists from each of UEFA’s 54 member associations provided a list of their five best-ranked players, with the first receiving five points, the second four and so on. The ten players with the most points have advanced to the second vote, which will determine the three finalists to be named on 12 August.

READ: Uefa Calls For Fifa Election To Be Postponed

The jury will then cast their votes for the outright winner during the 2015/16 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 28 August.

The current holder of the award is Cristiano Ronaldo.




Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail: wana@360nobs.com

Leave a Reply