APC Selects Gbajabiamila As Next House Of Reps Speaker

share on:

The House of Representatives members-elect under the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC, have elected Hon. Femi Gbajiabiamila as the candidate they would queue behind to become the next House of Reps speaker.

The poll which took place at the International Conference Centre, Abuja, is being witnessed by 182 out of 209 APC members-elect of the House.


It was learnt that after the nominations, Femi Gbajabiamila and Yakubu Dogara emerged as candidates for position.

Hon. Femi Gbajiabiamila polled 154 votes to defeat his closest rival, Yakubu Dogara, who garnered 3 votes. The number of invalid votes was 4.

For the position of deputy speaker, the incoming APC reps members gave Hon. Tahir Monguno, who was the sole candidate in the primary election, 153 votes, while the invalid votes amounted to 8.

According to the spokesperson of APC, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party is just trying to be democratic by allowing the members pick their own speaker.

The party is expected to carry out the same nomination for the Senate. However it is not clear if that vote will hold Saturday.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.