CAF Reveals Pot Placings For 2017 AFCON

share on:
2015 CAF Player of The year shortlist

The Confederation of African Football has released the pot placings for the qualifiers of the 2017 African Cup of Nations.

A total of 52 teams will go into the draw for the qualifiers, and will be drawn into 13 groups from which only the top team will automatically progress to the finals of the tournament.

On top of the hosts and 13 group winners, the two best-placed runners-up will also make it into the final 16.

The Super Eagles have been placed in Pot A alongside other heavyweights like Ghana, Ivory Coast & Algeria.

Morocco, who have had their suspension overturned, are in Pot 2.

See the full pots below.

AFCON 2017 Pots:
Pot 1:
Ivory Coast, Ghana, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Mali, Nigeria, Algeria, Zambia, Cape Verde, DRC, Guinea, Senegal, Cameroon

Pot 2:
South Africa, Gabon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Ethiopia, Togo, Morocco, Niger, Egypt, Uganda, Malawi, Sudan

Pot 3:
Mozambique, Botswana, Libya, Sierra Leone, Lesotho, Kenya, Benin, Rwanda, Tanzania, CAR, Zimbabwe, Liberia, Gambia

Pot 4:
Namibia, Guinea Bissau, Seychelles, Burundi, Mauritania, Chad, Madagascar, Sao Tome, Comoros, Swaziland, South Sudan, Mauritius, Djibouti



Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.