Kanye Goes ‘Spiritual’ On New Album, Titles It “So Help Me God”; As Def Jam Addresses Fake Tracklist

share on:




The year 2015 has been quite the humongous one for controversial rapper, Kanye West; from his foray into fashion to Kim K’s unending media attentions and whatnot.



Kanye West x Adidas Originals YEEZY SEASON 1




On Sunday, March 1st, he took to his official twitter account – and tweeted the words ‘New Album Title…’ at exactly 06:20 followed by ‘So Help Me God’ at 06:25 – in announcement of a title for his seventh studio album. It is widely reported that the project will fly under the title “So Help Me God”.



The “Stronger” rapper made some major headlines with a similarly ‘spiritual’ track title in “Jesus Walks”, a record he put out via his “The College Dropout” album of 2004. “Jesus Walks” went home that year with a Grammy Award for Best Rap Song, MTV Video Award for Best Male Video, as well as BET Award for Video Of The Year. And following his more renowned, successful hip hop presence today; we think of this album project as something just as big. We wait with bated breaths.



Not a lot has been heard or said of the album although a certain tracklist is reportedly doing the rounds; a claim some Def Jam Rep has shot down, calling it ‘fake’. Music blog –Rapcussion.com– had gone on Twitter yesterday and posted, at about 12:03AM, an image of the tracklist of Mr. West’s forthcoming album.



The alleged fake tracklist for Kanye’s “So Help Me God” album.



Regardless of the hush nature of things in respect to the album though; singles “Only One”, “FourFiveSeconds”, “Wolves” and “All Day” have popped out in various manners from live performance debuts to online leaks and official releases. Kanye is said to be around ‘80% done’ on the project, and it is expected to drop as a ‘surprise party’, seeing as there are no publicity plans in place.



According to hihopdx.com, the unfounded leak hits the internet a little after two months after the rapper first released the album’s lead single, “Only One”, on New Year’s Eve.



Hiphopdx reports further:

“Since and more recently, West has debuted new songs from the album including ‘Wolves’and ‘All Day.’ Kanye’s ‘FourFiveSeconds’ collaboration with Rihanna and Paul McCartney appears on the alleged tracklist as a Deluxe Edition bonus track alongside a remix of ‘All Day.’ An iTunes store-only bonus track called ‘Platinum’ is also listed and includes features from Common and Q-Tip” 



Images: www.urbanislandz.com, www.highsnobiety.com, www.twitter.com/Rapcussion




Henry Igwe

Henry Igwe

Copywriter. Sanguine. God understands me.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.