NUC Hunt Down 8 Illegal Universities – See List

share on:

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has disclosed the names of the eight operators of illegal universities across the country which have been closed down and are being prosecuted.

The list of illegal universities were published in NUC’s weekly bulletin and made available on Wednesday in Abuja.

The publication, signed by NUC’s Executive Secretary, Prof. Julius Okojie, listed the institutions as

National University of Nigeria, Keffi, Nasarawa State and North Central.

University, Otukpo, Benue State.

Christ Alive Christian Seminary and University, Enugu.

Richmond Open University, Arochukwu; Abia State.

West Coast University, Umuahia.

Saint Clements University, Iyin Ekiti, Ekiti State.

Volta University College, Aba, Abia State.

Satellite campuses of Ambrose Alli University.

“In addition to the closure, the following ‘Degree Mills’ are currently undergoing court actions; the purpose of these actions is to prosecute the proprietors and recover illegal fees and charges on subscribers.

“For the avoidance of doubt, anybody who patronises or obtains any certificate from any of these illegal institutions does so at his or her own risk.

“Certificates obtained from these sources will not be recognised for the purposes of NYSC, employment and further studies.’’

The bulletin also listed 55 illegal universities which had not been licenced and were closed down for violating the Education Act of 2004.

NAN recalls that NUC recently handed over two alleged fake professors to the police for prosecution.



I am but your herald boy in the art of the pen.. An eccentric Environmental Biologist smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism. If you ever find my article unduly insipid, sue me and i’ll refund you...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.