Aregbesola crushes Omisore

share on:

The Governor of Osun State and the All Progressives Congress candidate, Rauf Aregbesola, polled a total of 394,684 votes to emerge the winner of the state governorship election held on Saturday.

Aregbesola won in 24 local government areas of the 30 local government areas in the state to maintain a clear lead. His closest rival and the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Senator Iyiola Omisore, garnered 292,750 votes to occupy second position. He won in six local government areas. The Labour Party’s candidate, Mr. Fatai Akinbade, occupied a distant third position. He won no local government area.

Aregbesola won in Ifedayo, Boripe, Orolu, Atakunmosa West, Ilesa West, and Ilesa East. He also won in Ayedade, Ayedire, Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ifelodun, and Ila local government areas.

Others are Irepodun, Irewole, Iwo, Obokun, Ola Oluwa, Olorunda, Oriade, and Osogbo.

Omisore emerged winner in Odo-Otin, Bolowaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Isokan, and Iwo LGAs.

The announcement of the results brought to a climax the tension and  excitement that preceded the Saturday event. Although the accreditation was scheduled to commence by 8am, voters were already at the various polling units as early as 6.30am waiting for INEC officials.



Music, Gossips and Pepsi keeps me going. You should follow on twitter @kingfemii

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.