Oyegun Becomes APC New Chairman; See Photos From Convention

share on:

Former Governor of Edo state, Chief John Odigie Oyegun, was elected last night in Abuja during the All Progressive Congress first national convention as the first National Chairman of the party.

Oyegun emerged by consensus votes, despite initial stiff opposition from his kinsman, Tom Ikimi who was not seen at the venue of the convention. This was after two other aspirants for the chairmanship position, Chief Sam Jaja and Timipire Sylva  agreed to back down, thus leaving Oyegun and Ikimi to do the contest.

Sylva while announcing his withdrawal from the contest, said he took the decision in order to maintain party unity, adding that he will throw his weight behind the party’s choice, Oyegun.

Other officers who also emerged through the same process were Deputy Chairman, South, Segun Adebayo Oni; Deputy Chairman, North, Lawal Shuaibu; National Secretary, Alhaji Mai Mala Goni and National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Muhammed.

See pics from the Convention below






photo 1-2

photo 2-2



Photos: Elobomah

Ada Igboanugo

Ada Igboanugo

Unorthodox Female | Writer | PR Consultant. I am Titanium

1 comment

Leave a Reply