The Public Decides as Voting for the SAFTAs Best TV Soap Category is Opened

share on:

The first SAFTAs were held in 2006 under the National Film and Video Foundation of South Africa (NFVF) banner. The Awards honor talent in the South African film and TV industry by celebrating and promoting home-grown creativity, quality and excellence – as well as encouraging talent, entrepreneurship and development within the industry. A SAFTA winner is presented with a Golden Horn which symbolizes Circularity as an organizing principle in African thought and, like a continuous reel of past-present-future, speaks to endless creativity.

The voting line for the 8th Annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) Best TV Soap award category is now open. This is the only award category in the SAFTAs that is voted for by the public.

All the South African TV soaps are competing in this category except for Muvhango, which did not enter this year’s SAFTAs and was therefore not eligible for this category.

The competing TV soaps have been allocated a number ranging from “1” to “9” and to vote, the public can text the relevant number allocated to their favorite TV soap to 33100, sms cost R1.50 (a flat rate on all networks).

The numbers allocated to TV soaps are as follows:

For 7 de Laan SMS 1 to 33100

For Binneland SMS 2 to 33100

For Generations SMS 3 to 33100

For Isibaya SMS 4 to 33100

For Isidingo SMS 5 to 33100

For Rhythm City SMS 6 to 33100

For Scandal SMS 7 to 33100

For The Wild SMS 8 to 33100

For Villa Rosa SMS 9 to 33100

The Best TV Soap award is one of the most sought after awards in the SAFTAs as it demonstrates which local TV soap is most popular with the South African public.

The voting line will close on the 5th of April 2014 and the winning TV soap will be announced at the awards ceremony taking place on the same evening, broadcast live on SABC 3 starting with the red carpet coverage at 7pm and moving to the awards ceremony from 8pm until 10.30pm.


Mistah Cole

Mistah Cole

is a Nigerian-born Music critic and movie blogger

1 comment

Leave a Reply