Nigerian Artists Dominate MTV Africa Music Awards 2014 Nomination List

share on:

MTV Base has announced the nominees for this year’s MTV Africa Music Awards.

The announcement, was made on Wednesday at the nominations party at The Sands in Johannesburg, South Africa.

This year’s nominations prove that Nigerian music has fast taken over Africa. Out of fifteen different categories, Nigeria was nominated in eleven categories and includes some of the biggest names in the Nigerian entertainment industry including Omotola Jalade, Chimamanda Adichie, 2Face, PSquare, Wizkid, Burna Boy, Olamide, Flavour among many others.

The different categories, which include Best Male, Best Female, Song of the Year and Artist of the Year also broadened the scope of the MAMA awards franchise as achievements in non-music fields will also be recognized. They include “Personality of the Year” and “Transform Today by Absolut”, an award designed to recognize and support young, emerging and original African creative talents who use their imagination to fuel social transformation and bring positive attention to the continent.

Davido has the most nominations this year with four nods for Song of the Year, Best male, Artist of the Year and Best Collaboration. Following closely behind with 3 nominations is dynamic duo, P Square with Best Group, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year while Wizkid receives two nods for Best Male and Best Collaboration.

Other Nigerian nominees include 2Face, Burna Boy, Chidinma, Don Jazzy, Dr Sid, Flavour, Ice Prince, KCEE, May D, Olamide, Phyno and Tiwa Savage.

Commented Alex Okosi, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa, “We congratulate all the nominees for the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards. This year, the MAMA offers a stunning platform for African artists, it also celebrates the young personalities, leaders and creatives who are making a positive impact on the continent.”

Check out the Nigerian Nomination Table:


Best Male
Best Female
Tiwa Savage

Best Group
P Square

Best New Act
Burna Boy

Best Live Act

Best Collaboration
Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)

R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)

Artist of the Year
P Square

Song of the Year
Davido- ‘Skelewu’
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’
KCee – ‘Limpopo’
P Square – ‘Personally’

Best Hip Hop
Ice Prince

Personality of the Year
Chimamanda Adichie
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde

Transform Today by Absolut
Clarence Peters



Best Male:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Donald (South Africa)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Chidinma (Nigeria)
DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
Efya (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group:
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act:
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Heavy K (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Live Act:
2face (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Dr Malinga (South Africa)
Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

Best Collaboration:
Amani ft. Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda)
Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)
R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)
Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola)

Artist of the Year:
Davido (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Song of the Year:
Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria)
DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa)
DJ Ganyani feat FB – ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa)
DJ Kent feat The Arrows –‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa)
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria)
KCee – ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa)
Mi Casa- ‘Jika’ (South Africa)
P Square – ‘Personally’ (Nigeria)
Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola)

Best Hip Hop:
AKA (South Africa)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
Khuli Chana (South Africa)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Pop:
Danny K (South Africa)
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Goldfish (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Mathew Mole (South Africa)

Best Alternative:
Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
Michael Loman (South Africa)
Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
Parlotones (South Africa)
Shortstraw (South Africa)

Best Francophone:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
Ferre Gola (DRC)
Toofan (Togo)
Youssoupha (Congo)

Best Lusophone:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
JD (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)


Personality of the Year:
Chimamanda Adiche (Nigeria)
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)

Transform Today by Absolut
Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Leti Arts (Ghana)
Rasty (South Africa)

….As Davido Bags Highest Number of Nominations


Sylvia Eneghalu

Sylvia Eneghalu

•SiLiFaH •Tall •Black •Beautiful •Forbes Woman •Tongue Twister •Tailor •Fruit Lover


  1. Pls mtv shuld stop it,they also want to bring this screw job to africa,when they screwed kendrick lamar of the best rap album,mehn i was mad,checking kendrick lamars album song for song,lyrics for lyrics will beat out macklemore’s album by a billion miles especially songs like “bitch dnt kill my vibe” and “poetic justice”…mehn kendrick is d current best rapper and lupe fiasco shuld b no 2 after him,and they gave it to macklemore,i knw they want macklemore to take d no1 position in their top 10 hottest mc’s of d year.We ar waiting 4 them to release d list and let them try to put macklemore on top instead of kanyewest or somebody else worthy and we will knw that they are incredible to give any award
    Nw back 2 mehn thing i wanted to unleash,Iceprince zamani shuld hav a nomination for the best collabo category for his “aboki” remix,pls damn it and lets b sincere 4 once,am nt a iceprince fanatic but i must say d truth,iceprince “aboki” remix is the best and biggest collabo in d history of Africa ever and d song is nt nominated,or do they want screw nigerians of that award,this is one of d biggest joke frm mtv.It hurts me deeply whn i see d truth and pple being screwed.
    Pls i urge mtv to do the right thing and stop taking away wht belongs 2 a rightful person to another person,thank you.

  2. Okay, first of we team wizkid starboy all day, i think sliw down is the best song i've ever had also sauti sol shld win this award. Any song that they make is amzing and their videos are out of this world. says:


  3. davido ur enemies go die i swear god na me baggio talk am , u be best forever no mind some who dey form allowance and have only one coross u still be the best , someone like u in nigeria na artist he no get kora and he dey show him self , the artist know himself na , i love u davido omo baba olowo

  4. davido baba forever u get mouth ,i love u davido , people who dey jealous u thonda go fire them to death , i pray for u , i love u davidou be best

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.