Kendrick Lamar Leads Nominations At 2013 Soul Train Awards; P-Square & Iyanya Grab Nominations [Full Nominee List]

share on:

Kendrick Lamar continues to remain the best thing to happen to hip-hop this year, continuing his fine form by grabbing 6 nominations at the 2013 Soul Train Awards.

The release of the nomination list was also good news for Nigerian music, as P-Square and Kukere master Iyanya also managed to grab nominations.

Lamar has been nominated in the categories of Best New Artist, Album Of The Year (for ‘Good Kid, mAAd City’), Song Of The Year, Best Hip-Hop Song Of The Year and Video Of The Year for ‘Poetic Justice’ and Best Collaboration for his work with Miguel on ‘How Many Drinks’.
Close behind him were Miguel himself, Justin Timberlake, Robin Thicke, Chris Brown and Tamar Braxton, who all picked up five nominations across varying categories, whilst Janelle Monae received four nods purely for single ‘QUEEN’.
Best New Artist
Bridget Kelly
K. Michelle
Kendrick Lamar
Tamar Braxton
Centric Certified Award
Joss Stone
Luke James
Lyfe Jennings
Solange Knowles
Stacy Barthe
Talib Kweli
Best Gospel International Performance
Tasha Cobbs – “Break Every Chain”
Lecrae- “Confessions”
Bishop Hezekiah Walker – “Every Praise”
Shirley Caesar -“God Will Make Away “
Tye Tribbett – “If He Did It Before…Same God “
John P. Kee – “Life & Favor”
Best Hip Hop Song of The Year
Wale feat. Tiara Thomas – “Bad”
Nicki Minaj feat. Lil Wayne – “High School”
Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake – “Holy Grail”
Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake – “Poetic Justice”
J. Cole feat. Miguel – “Power Trip”
Drake – “Started From The Bottom”
Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Alicia Keys
Chrisette Michele
Janelle Monáe
Kelly Rowland
Tamar Braxton
Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Bruno Mars
Charlie Wilson
Chris Brown
John Legend
Robin Thicke
Album Of The Year
Justin Timberlake – The 20/20 Experience
Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid, M.A.A.D City
Miguel: Kaleidoscope Dream
Jay Z – Magna Carter…Holy Grail
Fantasia – Side Effects Of You
Rihanna- Unapologetic
Song Of The Year
Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. – “Blurred Lines”
Rihanna – “Diamonds”
Chris Brown – “Fine China”
Tamar Braxton – “Love and War”
Kendrick Lamar – “Poetic Justice”
Justin Timberlake ft. Jay Z – “Suit and Tie”
The Ashford And Simpson Songwriters Award
“Crooked Smile” (Jermaine Cole, Meleni Smith)
“Fire We Make” – (Alicia Keys, Andrew Wansel, Warren Felder, Gary Clark Jr.)
“Love and War” – (Tamar Braxton. LaShawn Daniels, Makeba Riddick)
“Mirrors” – (Justin Timberlake, Timothy Mosley, Jerome Harmon, James Fauntleroy)
“Q.U.E.E.N.” -(Janelle Monae Robinson, Nathaniel Irvin III, Charles Joseph II, Kellis Parker Jr, Roman GianArthur Irvin)
Best Dance Performance
Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. – “Blurred Lines”
Ciara – “Body Party”
Chris Brown – “Fine China”
Janelle Monáe feat. Erykah Badu – “Q.U.E.E.N.”
Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z – “Suit and Tie”
Bruno Mars – “Treasure”
Video Of The Year
Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. – “Blurred Lines”
Chris Brown- “Fine China”
Tamar Braxton – “Love and War”
Kendrick Lamar ft. Drake – “Poetic Justice”
Janelle Monáe feat. Erykah Badu – “Q.U.E.E.N.”
Drake – “Started From The Bottom”
Best Collaboration
Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell – “Fire We Make”
Brandy feat. Chris Brown – “Put It Down”
J. Cole feat. Miguel – “Power Trip”
Janelle Monáe feat. Erykah Badu – “Q.U.E.E.N.”
Miguel feat. Kendrick Lamar – “How Many Drinks”
Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I – “Blurred Lines”
Wale ft. Sam Drew – “LoveHate Thing”
Best International Performance
Bunji Garlin – “Differentology”
Machel Montano – “The Fog”
P-Square – “Personally”
Iyanya – “Ur Waist”
Best Traditional Jazz Performance
George Benson feat. Wynton Marsalis – “Unforgettable”
Jeffrey Osborne feat. Chaka Khan – “Baby its Cold Outside”
Tony Bennett feat. Marc Anthony – “For Once In My Life”
Nicole Henry – “Waiting In Vain”
Terrence Blanchard – “Pet Step Sister’s Theme Song”
Best Contemporary Jazz Performance
Jose James – “Trouble”
Boney James feat. Rick Braun – “Batucada (The Beat)”
Michael Bublé – It’s A Beautiful Day
Dave Koz – “Got To Get You Into My Life”
George Duke – “Missing You”
Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance
Ashanti – “Never Should Have”
Brian McKnight – “Sweeter”
Kenny Lattimore – “Find A Way”
Maysa – “Love Me Good”
Raheem DeVaughn – “Love Connection”
Ron Isley – “Dinner and A Movie”


Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail:


Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.