No Nigerian Included As BBC Releases Shortlist For African Player Of The Year

share on:

Nigeria’s recognition in football continued its decline as the BBC released its shortlist of 5 names for the African Footballer of the Year, and no Nigerian was included.

The five candidates for the BBC African Footballer of the Year 2012 award have been revealed. Yaya Toure has made the shortlist for the second consecutive year and he is joined by his Ivory Coast team-mate Didier Drogba, Senegal’s Demba Ba, Morocco’s Younes Belhanda and Zambia skipper Christopher Katongo.

The winner will be decided by African football fans, who have until 1830 GMT on Thursday, 13 December to vote for their choice.



Quo non Ascendam. Writer. E-mail:

Leave a Reply