Road To The Headies: “Recording Of The Year” Clinical Analysis

share on:

Hello everyone, this time, we’ll be analyzing the Headies category –  “Recording of The Year” 


Stupid song – Bez Ft Praiz

Private trips – Wande Coal

Ara – Brymo

I love You – Praiz

Only four songs made the cut here but we’ll just take Wande Coal’s ‘private trips’ off the list as it sticks out like a craw and is as likely to win as King Sunny Ade is for lyricist on the roll. ‘Ara’ looks good on paper but a win for ‘Song of the year’ would have been more fitting.

This leaves Praiz competing against himself for top honors. Surely he (and we) would prefer to win solo but ‘That stupid song’ is the bigger deal and has garnered more traction over time. It is hard to see any other song emerging winner.

What should win:

I love You – Praiz

What will win:

That stupid song’ seems like the safe (and popular bet) here but ‘I love You’ could very well emerge the dark horse. Timi Dakolo’s ‘Heaven please’ was once recognised so Praiz still has enough reasons to prepare a speech. Don’t count out Brymo’s ‘Ara’ still; it has a long shot.


Brymo – Ara


  Brymo - Ara (3.9 MiB, 8,179 hits)

Wande Coal – Private Trips


  Wande Coal - Private Trips (5.1 MiB, 81,102 hits)

Praiz – Jekalo


  Praiz - Jekalo (3.7 MiB, 2,065 hits)

Who Should Win The 'Recording Of The Year' Category

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Wilfred Okiche

Wilfred Okiche

Wilfred Okiche is a movie buff and music head. He is still waiting for that one record that will change his life and remains ever optimistic. You can follow him on Twitter @drwill20

Leave a Reply