share on:

The Central Working Committee (CWC) of The Future Awards 2012 has announced the winners of this year’s awards in an elaborate event that held in the Garden City of Port Harcourton August 26, 2012.

The event held after a Saturday Governor’s reception in the state, and a Sunday extensive tour of paths of Rivers led by the commissioner for information and award-winning journalist, Ibim Semenitari.

The Keynote Speech was delivered by former group CEO of UBA and chairman of Heirs Holdings, Tony O. Elumelu, MFR. Guests included the former president of the World Bank, Obiageli Ezekwesili, the deputy governor of the state, founder of the Rainbow Book Club Koko Kalango, entertainment lawyer Efere Ozako, blogger Linda Ikeji, on-air personality Denrele Edun, actors OC Ukeje and Tonto Dike, designers Ohimai Atafo, amongst others

“We are pleased to announce the names of great individuals that made it through the process of nomination, voting and judging over the last three months. Everyone that made it as far as been nominated, is a winner in our eyes,” said the Executive Director of The Future Awards, Chude Jideonwo who also delivered a rousing speech themed “This ship is sinking – so what will we do about it?”

It was a gathering of change agents, innovators, entrepreneurs, celebrities from all over the 36 states of the country. The Keynote Speech and the ‘Conversation about Nigeria’ held at The Atrium, while the Red Carpet reception and the awards show at a new international events venue launched the day before, Aztech Arcum.

There were performances by Bez, Chidinma, the daughter of Port Harcourt Muma Gee, and national anthem by Nene, Ruby and Shaydee. Timi Dakolo ended the show with a spectacular performance of Great Nation. There was also a documentary playing tribute to January’s fuel subsidy protests and The Corpers who lost their lives in the 2011 elections.

Profile of the winners of The 2012 Future Awards are available on www.facebook.com/thefutureawards

The Future Awards 2012 is hosted by the Rivers State Government, with support from Access Bank, Diamond Bank, Microsoft, and Notore. Media partners are Media Partners for the event are Channels TV, Silverbird TV, TVContinental, Wazobia FM, Nigeria Info, BellaNaija, 360Nobs.com, LindaIkejiBlog, Jobberman, Premium Times, NET, TW, Complete Fashion, andFAB.Officialmedia partners are Africa Magic, Cool FM, and Y (www.ynaija.com).

The Winners:

Best Use of Advocacy
Babafemi Oyediran (Project Red)
Best Use of New Media
Creative Artist of the Year
Bayo Omoboriowo (Photographer)
Designer of the Year
Toju Foyeh
Excellence in Service – Government
Hadizah Abdullahi (MDGs Office)
Excellence in Service – Journalism
Alkasim Abdulkadir (CNN)
Excellence in Service – Corporate
Ngozi Nkwoji (Senior Brand Manager, NB Plc)
Innovator of the Year – Science & Technology
Seun Onigbinde (BudgIT)
Innovator of the Year – Education
Otto Orondaam (SLUM2School Project)
Actor of the Year
Tonto Dikeh
Musician of the Year
Producer of the Year – Music
J. Sleek
Producer of the Year – Screen
Clarence Peters
On-Air Personality – Radio
Tolu “Toolz” Oniru (Beat FM)
On-Air Personality – Television
Denrele Edun (Channel O)
Entrepreneur of the Year – Entertainment
Micheal Ajereh (Don Jazzy)
Entrepreneur of the Year – Technology
Jason Njoku (Iroko TV)
Entrepreneur of the Year – Media/Communication
Uyi Omokaro (DM2)
Entrepreneur of the Year – General
Ola Orekunrin (Flying Doctors Nigeria)
Young Person of the Year
Idris Akinbanjo (Journalist)



The 6 o"clock man.


  1. wizkid dont surpose to win the best musician. Why not p square or dbanj. Wizkid music is full of childish, infact he dont know how to sing atall

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.